Skip to content

Mobile marketing versus email marketing

November 4, 2009



I came across an interesting piece of information this week which highlights the need to have many tools in your internet marketing strategy. Within one year, 33% of email addresses are no longer valid which, as you can imagine, presents a challenge for anyone relying on just this tactic alone.

Mobile phone numbers, however, rarely change and are more personal than email addresses. Over my lifetime I’ve had several email addresses but I can say that I have had one mobile phone number and don’t really like the prospect of giving it up. I equate it with me and my identity much more than an email address.

I would never say give up on email but I would say much like building a house you can’t rely on a “one tool for every job” kind of approach to digital marketing and I would highly recommend adding mobile marketing to your mix for its immediacy and personal attributes.

Dale Knoop is the President of Ruxter and an industry-recognized pioneer of mobile data services. In 2005 Dale won an Emmy while serving as the GM for Sprint TV. In August 2009 he launched Ruxter which allows anyone to quickly and easily become part of the rapidly growing mobile internet with a fully optimized mobile website they can share with anyone. You can contact him here. Follow Ruxter on Twitter.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2009 9:12 am

    I heard this somewhere where one guy made huge sales from mobile marketing. I guess its a niche marketing tool not yet explored by many who are currently on email marketing.

  2. Dale Knoop permalink
    November 13, 2009 10:08 am

    Hi Zee,

    The studies I’ve seen and the anecdotal evidence shows that mobile marketing typically has much much higher redemption rates than direct mail of email. Most text messages are opened only seconds after they are received.

    Cheers! DK

Leave a Reply

