Skip to content

A personalized mobile portal on your phone? Yes you can!

November 20, 2009

Did you know that you can build a personalized mobile content portal for yourself on Ruxter? Well you can and it’s super easy to do. If you want to see one, take a look at my Ruxter site by texting daleknoop to 63636 or by going to www.ruxter.mobi/daleknoop.

In fact, according to a new survey published by Qualcomm’s Xiam Technologies Discovery Solutions unit and conducted by TNS Global, mobile internet users reported they would increase their time with mobile content by more than an hour each week (a 55 percent jump) if their content was personalized. Here’s a link to a short slide show about the survey findings.

What struck me about the report was them calling “slow and hard to find information” in slide 2 as the biggest source of frustration with the mobile internet. As I have said before I saw this in my time at Sprint and this was one of the drivers behind the creation of Ruxter.

If you’re like me, and the survey says you are, you don’t exactly care for the mobile portal provided to you by the carriers.  Slide 3 of the survey results says portal users report the most issues. There is too much content to go through and it’s picked by a group of people to cater to national tastes. You won’t find niche content there or local content there and in some cases the carriers have stopped doing portal content deals while they focus on fleecing more from their app stores.

If you look at my Ruxter site I have the following links: the Ruxter Twitter feed, F1-Live for all my Formula One updates, YouTube, a link to a pizza ordering site I created in 3 minutes which lists the mobile sites for Papa John’s, Pizza Hut and Domino’s, the Ruxtermobi site and more. In effect and in reality I created my own personal mobile portal and I can put any link, Ruxter site and content in there that I want and I can manage them easily through my Ruxter account.

Imagine being able to have a place you can insert any mobile link you want and change them up anytime you want. And, here’s where it gets good, I can put any picture I want on my mobile site. No more having only the pictures I took with my camera in my phone. Want a picture of the new 911 GT3 RS to ogle at? No problem-put it in your Ruxter site. Pix of the kids? No problem-put them in your Ruxter site. Like to follow soccer outside the US? No problem-add www.betscores.mobi to your Ruxter site. Want to read the Financial Times? No problem-add wap.ft.com to your Ruxter site.

Why put up with what the carrier chose for you? With your own Ruxter site you don’t have to anymore and you can create your own mobile portal with the content you want.

Yes, one might say bookmarks can do the same thing with links but you can’t bookmark pictures on your phone and in the time that it takes to sort through my bookmarks I’m already in my Ruxter site choosing what I want.

So here’s what you do if you want a personal mobile portal for yourself. Take 5 minutes to create a Ruxter site, find the links and content you want on it and build out your site. When you’re done, change the default URL on your phone so that when you open your mobile browser you go to your site and not the carriers. You’ll be glad you did and you’ll get the content you want without the frustration.

Dale Knoop is the President of Ruxter and an industry-recognized pioneer of mobile data services. In 2005 Dale won an Emmy while serving as the GM for Sprint TV. In August 2009 he launched Ruxter which allows anyone to quickly and easily become part of the rapidly growing mobile internet with a fully optimized mobile website they can share with anyone. You can contact him here. Follow Ruxter on Twitter.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 20, 2009 4:31 pm

    Nice writing. You are on my RSS reader now so I can read more from you down the road.

    Allen Taylor

Leave a Reply

