Skip to content

One HUGE prediction for 2010

January 4, 2010

Not to be left out of the 2010 mobile industry prediction parade I will, today and with great fanfare, announce my “2010 Prediction to Remember”! (Add in your own echo effect on the word “Remember” so you can hear it like I am saying it as I type-if that’s even possible.)

Drum roll…….

2010 will be the year of really big numbers.

There you go. Impressed, right?

What’s the deal with my prediction? I’m not going to jump on the hype band wagon and as is my nature, I’m going for that which can’t be refuted. Augmented Reality in 2010? I already pooh-poohed that one in 2009. LBS or stalk-a-mate/friend/ex/employee as I like to call it in 2010? It’s here today and I’m still not comfy with the potential downside.

So, I’m not going for killer features or killer apps, I’m going for killer numbers and the mobile industry is going to put up some big numbers in 2010. I suppose I could make predictions about what those numbers would be but that would be boring.

Instead, think about how you will be part of what is going to be bigger than the PC-based internet. Take the hugeness of the mobile opportunity for granted. You see, we all know this already. Watch a live sporting event and ANY shot of the crowd has more than one person glued to their mobile and not watching the action. Go to a mall and you’ll see the same things with teens and some of the adults too. I don’t have to bring up texting while driving do I?

The mobile phone is changing our lives and habits and relying on your PC-based website in the mobile world is like relying on an empolyee carrying a sandwich board to get your message to your customer.

Sit back and enjoy 2010. When you get a minute-go ahead and get a free Ruxter site. Congrats! You will have just added yourself to the 2010 chapter of the HUGENESS of the mobile opportunity.

Dale Knoop is the President of Ruxter, a mobile multimedia patents holder and an industry-recognized pioneer of mobile data services. In 2005 Dale won an Emmy while serving as the GM for Sprint TV. In August 2009 he launched Ruxter which allows anyone to quickly and easily become part of the rapidly growing mobile internet with a free, fully optimized mobile website they can share with anyone. You can contact him here. Follow Ruxter on Twitter.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 2:54 pm

    Just as I finished the blog entry this popped up in my inbox about Mary Meeker’s predictions for the mobile internet.

    http://www.mediapost.com/publications/?fa=Articles.showArticle&art_aid=119987

  2. January 7, 2010 5:12 pm

    Adding more weight to the HUGENESS of the mobile internet opportunity is this quote from Mobile Marketing Watch:

    “A new report published by Quantcast shows the mobile Web grew 110 percent in the U.S., and 148 percent worldwide in 2009. Interestingly, the mobile Web still only makes up 1.26 percent of total U.S Web consumption, and a mere .99 percent worldwide- in other words, we still have a ways to go.”

    If the mobile web is growing this fast and is still this small and is set to overtake the PC-based web in traffic all I can say is Aye Carumba! there’s a lot of room to grow for Ruxter.

Leave a Reply

