Skip to content

Now I just need a Batmobile

April 9, 2010

 

bat signal

Need an instant reponse? Deploy the Bat Signal.

I was riding in a car earlier this week when my phone buzzed as it’s prone to do.  It was late morning and we had just wrapped up a client meeting and were discussing where to eat lunch.  I checked my phone and saw that I had received a Ruxter Message from a local restaurant, “Free Lunch at Papa Lew’s Today”.  Well that got my attention, so I clicked the URL to see what it was all about.  Turns out Papa Lew’s was giving away free BBQ Riptips and fries to the first two people to show the message between noon and 1pm.  So much for needing to discuss where we were going for lunch.

Although my business is mobile websites and SMS, I was still a little surprised at my reaction to Papa Lew’s message.  At the time my phone initially buzzed I assumed it was another email relaying another task I needed to complete or a response to a query I sent – you know, something work related.  Seeing the message from Papa Lew’s changed my whole mindset.  I instantly knew where I was going for lunch, and because I was already in the car, there was a good chance it would FREE!  And since it was Papa Lew’s, I knew it would be excellent food.

Discussing it over lunch that day, I realized it reminded me of the infamous Bat Signal.  Using Ruxter, a business is able to immediately broadcast a rich message to all of their subscribers, and no matter where they are, the message is instantly received.  That’s pretty powerful stuff.   Watch out traditional media, the mobile web and SMS are about to take a bite out of your lunch.

Papa Lew’s is located near downtown Kansas City. You can check out their mobile site here:  Papa Lew’s

Or on your phone here: http://ruxter.mobi/soulfood

John Epperson is a co-founder and President of Ruxter. Having worked in various fields across the technology spectrum in the last 20+ years, John has gained a broad understanding of technology. Together with the Ruxter team he has developed a web-based application that allows anyone to quickly and easily harness the power of the mobile internet. You can contact him here. Follow Ruxter on Twitter.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

